The 2024 Scientific Awards:  Call for Papers Now Open! Deadline to submit is November 13, 2023

The Knee Society annually presents three (3) scientific awards for papers submitted from the various training programs or from practicing orthopaedic surgeons, both members and non-members, for presentation at the Specialty Day Meeting of The Knee Society (during the AAOS Annual Meeting). The 2024 Specialty Day will be held on Friday, February 16, in San Francisco, CA. More about AAOS 2024 Annual Meeting.

Top 3 papers are selected for the following awards:
• The Chitranjan S. Ranawat, MD Award (with a $1,000 honorarium).
• The John N. Insall, MD Award (with a $1,000 honorarium).
• The Mark B. Coventry, MD Award (with a $1,000 honorarium).

Any and all of these awards are granted at the discretion of the Program Committee of The Knee Society.

Submission Process
  1. Members and non-members are eligible to submit.
  2. A paper submitted for consideration to The Knee Society may not also be submitted to The Hip Society, whose cycle and process is similar. If a study is relevant to both hip and knee, submitters must choose only one Society to submit to.

  3. Submitted papers must:
    • Be blinded.
    • Highlight quality basic science or clinical research specifically related to the knee joint.
    • Be completely original work and not be submitted to, and/or published in whole or in part in, any journal or via electronic media platform prior to presentation at Specialty Day.
    • May be previously presented, in whole or in part, if the new submission represents an important contribution.
    All submissions must be submitted via The Knee Society:

  4. The deadline to submit a full manuscript in consideration for an award is November 13, 2023.

  5. A copy of the complete Policies and Procedures is available, here.

    *Journal of Arthroplasty (JOA) is the official journal of The Knee Society.

2023 Scientific Award Winners

The John Insall Award

Randomized Clinical Trial of Cementless vs. Cemented Tibial Components: Durable and Reliable at 10 Years

Emmanuel Gibon, MD, PhD

The Mark Conventry Award

Human Knee Has a Distinct Microbiome: Implications for Periprosthetic Joint Infection

Javad Parvizi, MD

The Chitranjan Ranawat Award

Tourniquet Use Does Not Impact Trajectory of Total Knee Arthroplasty Early Recovery: A Prospective 28 Randomized Controlled Trial

Charles Lawrie, MD


The Knee Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award

The Knee Society is honored to present its 2022 Lifetime Achievement Award to

Lawrence D. Dorr, MD (posthumously)

Dr. Dorr (1941-2020) was a founding member of The Knee Society who contributed to all aspects of the organization from its inception and until his passing. He organized the closed meetings of The Knee Society and served on its board in many positions, including as its President in 1990. More importantly, Dr. Dorr was a pioneer in research and education, as well as in enhancing clinical care of patients with knee arthritis throughout his career. He is noted throughout the world for being a masterful educator, an innovator, a mentor, and a philanthropist.

“The ultimate service is unconditional giving of knowledge and skills... This is why we all chose medicine.”  Lawrence D. Dorr, MD

 More about the Award HERE.